The Girl & Her Music ~ Once Upon A Time In The Land of Sunshine.

When I was a young girl I spent endless hours listening to music. My transistor radio rarely left my hand and I feel asleep every night to the songs coming from the radio on my nightstand. I was once grounded off my bike for doing the “jerk” while pedaling. Apparently it was not good bicycle safety, never mind there was no such things as bike helmets back then. My bike and my radio, it just didn’t get any better than that… and myself and my peeps, we sang all the time. We sang in the car, on the bus, in church, at 4-H camps; we sang on the beach, around campfires, on walks and swinging on swings. We sang Top 40, campfire songs, childhood ditties, traveling songs, church songs; songs we learned from parents and grandparents, songs from movies and occasionally naughty nonsense one couldn’t get out of one’s head, no matter how hard ya tried, the tune was just too catchy.

Dancing and singing, singing and dancing, it was a child’s life and what child does not love music.My Uncle had an endless stack of 45’s and we would listen for hours, queuing them into oblivion. It was truly boss, groovy and cool, just like it ought to be; I was in heaven.There was such a blend of music from rock and roll, to R & B, folk, soul; songs of liberation and revolution, anthems for peace and love, old standards and the new sound. The old and the new overlapped each other and brought a merge of music I didn’t see again until the internet made accessible sounds from across the globe, a music conversion to bring joy to my ears.

For a beach girl raised under the California sun, with a bike and a radio, who dreamed of dancing in her own go-go boots  while singing “…Hey There Georgie Girl”, music stole the show… and the show must go on…

So here are a few from way back in the day which I still sing about the house or in the car, to my grandchildren and for the sheer love of the song.

For my cousin Debbie ~ my singin’ dancin’ partner in crime. The Yellow Rose of Texas was never the same again.

*Note: I could post music for days. There are so many songs which framed my childhood and it was tough choosing such a small few. Sadly I have to limit myself or I would need to retitle my blog Sadh Bakshish ~ The Gifts & Bounty Music Blog. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

