Ancestors

 

The ancestors came to me today.

They danced through my vision in beat.

Women and rows of women,

Antiquity upon antiquity

Nation beside nation

They danced

Showing faces and their stance.

Movement of grace and power

Lineage of wisdom; knowledge,

Gather in a parade of bestowing honor.

Maidens, Mothers and Crones –

In White they show;

Regalia of flash, rattle and bells,

Singing, dancing down through a vision

Of time, no time.

As they called me to the rhythm of my feet,

My heart, in this line, this circle;

The benevolent naming of my own.

 

Sadh Bakshish Kaur

Leave a Reply

