A Few Words on Censorship

There are issues in life and our culture I would carry a banner and march for….freedom from censorship is one of them. There is a duality present in censorship. One can state their rights in a stance against censorship in relation to what an individual deems ought to have freedom of representation and then on the other hand lobby to extinguish and censor that which is offensive or violating to said individual.

I do not want anyone to tell me what I can read, view, purchase, listen to, engage in, write, publish, live, believe, create etc. I hold the choices for myself. I am my own moral and ethical compass and choose accordingly.

There are rights which come from freedom of speech with which I do not agree. I may believe they have the potential to create an immoral and unethical condition. I may believe they bring pain and suffering to others and support a condition which I do not believe will provide the environment for health and well being….and the operative word here is I. In order to respect my I, I need to be respectful of the WE. I am part and parcel of both. If I take the position of imposing censorship I take the position of censoring myself, for it is all the same. Where one is bound and gagged, we are all bound and gagged.

Censorship does not come from the outside, it has its conception within the fears and instability of the individual. It manifests itself in control of the environment both within and without. When we attempt to control and censor our internal selves we create duality. We deem, “this is good, this is bad. This is beautiful, this is ugly. This is dark, this is light”. In the control of what we judge, we repress and what we repress grows…in the dark, in the hidden spaces, in the shadow psyche where we have placed it so we don’t have to “see” our “undesirable” nature. It is in that which I attempt to censor where I encounter my greatest fears built upon the dualities I have judged. I sit in judgement of myself, bound and gagged. The result is internal censorship which meets its support in external censorship. The inside and the outside are the same.

The choice for freedom from censorship must begin and be supported from within. It is in the awareness of my individual duality where I will experience true freedom(s). It is here I can “see” the nature of my being in all aspects and with conscious awareness make decisions to create my moral and ethical self, tending to an environment which brings about the strongest support for my health and well-being. It is in the allowing, not the denying where I truly meet myself.

“Know thyself, know thyself…and to thine own self be true”. I must first march for myself and raise my own banner of consciousness, to meet and greet myself truly, in integrity, without shame or judgement. In the discipline of this truth I live freedom, walk freedom and represent freedom within and without. I move beyond censorship and into being. It is the birth of a fearless life. It is all in the breath…it is all in the breath.

“Denial is pushing something out of your awareness. Anything you hide in the basement has a way of burrowing under the house and showing up on the front lawn”. Howard Sasportas

“The only way you can endure your pain is to let it be painful.” Shunryu Suzuki

“You have to know your strengths and weaknesses. Between your strengths and weaknessess is you”. Yogi Bhajan

 

One thought on “A Few Words on Censorship

Leave a Reply

